Eastern League

“Eastern League” has been a popular name over the past 130 years or so.  The first Eastern League was founded in 1884, and then renamed to the International League in 1912.  The second league to use the name began play in 1916 and played to midway through the 1932 season before the Great Depression shut it down.

The current Eastern League (Class AA) was born the New York-Pennsylvania League in 1923, adopting the Eastern League name in 1938 due to expansion.

Thomas H. Richardson 1938-1960

Rankin Johnson 1961-1968

Thomas H. Richardson 1969-1970

Roy Jackson 1971-1973

P. Patrick McKernan  1974-1982

Charles Eshbach 1982-1992

John Levenda 1993-1997

William B. Troubh 1998-2002

Joe McEacharn 2003-